by in ALL

On October 5, 2015, General Mills recalled 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios after 125 people were sickened. A majority of those sickened had gastrointestinal problems caused by Cheerios. The Cheerios were discovered to contain gluten, although the package was labeled as gluten free. The Cheerios are unsafe for anyone with celiac disease, gluten intolerance, or a wheat allergy.

Affected products were produced at the company’s Lodi, California plant. It appears that wheat flour was accidentally added to the gluten free oat flour. The products that have been recalled can be identified with the “Better If Used By” label. The dates related to the recalled Cheerios include 14JUL2016LD, 15JUL2016LD, 16JUL2016LD, and 17JUL2016LD. The dates related to the recalled Honey Nut Cheerios include 12JUL2016LD, 13JUL2016LD, 14JUL2016LD, 15JUL2016LD, 16JUL2016LD, 17JUL2016LD, 18JUL2016LD, 20JUL2016LD, 21JUL2016LD, 22JUL2016LD, 23JUL2016LD, 24JUL2016LD, and 25JUL2016LD.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat. It can cause diarrhea, headaches, abdominal pain, nausea, and vomiting in those with celiac disease. It can also cause gastrointestinal problems in those who have gluten intolerance. Wheat consumption can be deadly in those with a wheat allergy. If you or a loved one begins to show symptoms of celiac disease, gluten intolerance, or wheat allergy, contact a medical professional.